Fouling and Cleaning in Food Processing 2025

March 25 - 27, 2025

Dresden Kulisse als Standort des Institutsteils Verarbeitungstechnik des Fraunhofer IVV

About the Event

Illustration of the cleaning head of the AJCsens with the highly integrated sensor.
Fluoreszenzmesstechnische Detektion von Verschmutzungen

Food safety relies on reliable, resilient manufacturing processes. Food processing equipment needs to be readily cleaned between batches or different products, and resistant to fouling. Achieving this while minimizing the impact on the environment and consumption of resources as we head towards net zero is the challenge of the decade.

Understanding how to do this for new and existing products requires input from many stakeholders, including food scientists and microbiologists, engineers and industry.

The FCFP conferences are truly interdisciplinary and bring together those involved in hygienic manufacture operation and research and from all over the world to share new results and explore how to meet the challenge.

The 2025 conference will take place from March 25 to 27, 2025 at the Penck Hotel in Dresden/Germany and continues the series of meetings that began in 1981 in Lund, Sweden.

Join us!

Preliminary timing


July 2024 - February 2025


Abstract submission

July  2024 - September 2024


Notification of acceptance of abstract

October 2024


Deadline of submitting full scientific manuscripts

January 2025     


Deadline for submitting accepted industrial presentations (associated to accepted short papers) and industrial posters

February 2025



Scientific comittee

  • Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Augustin, TU Braunschweig (Germany)
  • Prof. John Chew, University of Bath (UK)
  • Dr. Guillaume Delaplace, INRAE (France)     
  • Dr. Christine Faille, INRAE (France)
  • Prof. Dennis Heldman, Ohio State University (USA)
  • Dr. Jen-Yi Huang, Purdue University (USA)
  • Dr. Bo Boye Busk, Jensen Alfa Laval (Denmark)
  • Prof. Maude Jimenez, Université de Lille (France)
  • Prof. Frank Lipnizki, Lund University (Sweden)
  • Dr.-Ing. Marc Mauermann, Fraunhofer IVV (Germany)
  • Prof. Ken Morison, University of Canterbury, NZ
  • Dr. Olga Santos, Alfa Laval (Sweden)
  • Prof. Kath Whitehead, Manchester Metropolitan University (UK)  
  • Prof. Ian Wilson, University of Cambridge (UK)
  • PhD. DSc. Eng. Joanna Piepiórka-Stepuk, Koszalin University of Technology (KUT)
  • Dr. Goerge Chen, University of Melbourne (AUS)
  • Dr. Dragana Arlov, Tetra Pak (Sweden)
  • Dr. Anders Goransson, Tetra Pak (Sweden)
  • Dr. Karl McCarthy, Biocel Ldt. (Ireland)
  • Dr. Patrick Wouters, Cargill (Netherlands)
  • Hein Timmerman, Diversey – A Solenis company (Belgium)
  • Irene Llorce Pellicer, Ainia (Spain)
  • Rafael Soro Martorell, Ainia (Spain)
  • Dr.-Ing. Hannes Köhler, TU Dresden (Germany)
  • Christian Golla, TU Dresden (Germany)
  • Dr. Gerhard Schleining, Universität für Bodenkultur (Austria)
  • Ass. Prof. Dr. Felix Schottroff, Universität für Bodenkultur (Austria)
  • Ass. Prof. Dr. Filipe Mergulhão, Universidade do Porto (Portugal)

Venue and registration

The event will take place at the Penck Hotel in Dresden, Germany:


Penck Hotel Dresden
Ostra-Allee 33
01067 Dresden Germany
T +49 351 492 27 85


The registration website will be available from July 2024.



Free State of Saxony signet

This project is co-financed from tax revenue on the basis of the budget adopted by the Saxon state parliament.