Hygienic Study Award

Award for outstanding scientific work in the field of hygienic processing and design

As part of the global "Hygienic Engineering Community", science and research make an important contribution to continuous development in the field of hygienic processing and to a safer food production on a global scale.

We want to promote science and research in the field of hygienic processing and to connect students with industry.

Since 2009, the Hygienic Study Award has recognized young researchers for their outstanding, innovative work in the relevant scientific fields. Their research results and the knowledge gained from their research create important added value for the worldwide promotion of hygienic design. At the same time, in conjunction with the award, the young scientists gain greater insight into the practical relevance of their research work, potential applications, and the needs of industry.


The Hygienic Study Award is a joint award of the Fraunhofer IVV, the EHEDG and the Gesellschaft zur Förderung des Maschinenbaues mbH a subsidiary of the VDMA e.V..

An international jury, consisting of representatives from various universities and research institutions as well as leading industrial companies, evaluate the applications.

Submit your papers!

We look forward to receiving your diploma, bachelor, master and doctoral theses as well as studies in the field of

  • hygienic design of machinery and buildings
  • fouling, cleaning and disinfection
  • food-contact materials, surface design, fluid mechanics, and food safety
  • or related topics,


Download the application form and send it together with your thesis and an extended abstract in English to the organizers at the Fraunhofer IVV (hsa@ivv-dd.fraunhofer.de).

The submitted work should not be older than three years and will be evaluated by an international jury. Participation is free of charge.

Submission deadline & selection procedure

The next application period ends on June 30, 2024.

The jury will evaluate all entries and select the winners.

The HSA 2024 will be awarded to the winners at the EHEDG World Congress in Nantes on 2 - 3 October 2024.

Evaluation criteria

Thematic complexity, degree of innovation, feasibility, methodology and scientific approach as well as comprehensibility and layout of the paper will be evaluated. Data protection is guaranteed.


Winners 2023

Winners 2021

Award ceremony


The winners of the HSA 2024 will be announced at the EHEDG World Congress in Nantes, October 2-3, 2024. 

Hygienic Study Award 2024


The application deadline is June 30, 2024 - Submit your scientific papers!


Application form

Application adress