Odor optimization of raw materials and articles of everyday use

Odor characterization and optimization

We evaluate products and raw materials, and technological, physical and chemical processes that lead to (un)desirable changes not only by identifying offensive odours, but also by investigating desirable material odours, such as characterising predominant smells (e.g., the smell of wood), comparing different samples both qualitatively and quantitatively, and formulating hypotheses about the formation pathways of such odorants, which are verified by studying potential precursors. We use state-of-the-art analytical methods to detect and identify such odors on a molecular basis; these procedures can be complemented by varios methods for evaluating consumer expectations of specific products, which allows for an objective assessment to be made on whether certain odour attributes are considered to be desirable or are indeed off-odors.


Products and raw materials

We have performed analyses on the odor attributes of diverse product groups and raw materials including (selected examples):

  • dyes, pigments, paints, inks
  • solvent and base formulations
  • plasticisers, lubricants, UV stabilisers
  • adhesives, binders
  • cleaning agents
  • cosmetics and body care products, as well as their associated raw materials
  • plastics, polymers, recyclates
  • wood, paper and cardboard products, cellulose-based materials
  • textiles, clothing materials, leather products, functional materials
  • articles of daily use, toys
  • furniture and furnishings
  • raw materials (for example, fats or fat derivatives, cellulose or cellulose derivatives)

Evaluation methods

Our analytical and methodological repertoire for characterising aromas/odours in food and non-food products includes:

  • Identification and characterisation of odorants using gas chromatography-olfactometry (GC-O), aroma extract dilution analysis (AEDA), and GC-O or 2D-GC-O coupled with mass spectrometry (2D-GC-O/MS)
  • Synthesis and comparative evaluation of reference compounds and suitable standards for quantitation, e.g., stable isotope dilution assay (SIDA) analysis
  • Comprehensive analytical characterisation of off-odours and aroma compounds using mass spectrometry, nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR), retention indices (RI), stereo-chemistry evaluations, and assessment of compounds with respect to their odour properties (odour attributes and thresholds)
  • Comprehensive structure-odour-activity relationship assessments
  • Recombinant odour trials to verify structural elucidations
  • Sensory assessments and evaluations according to standardised methods (DIN/ISO), as well as tailored sensory tests adapted to particular problems or products/product groups, specifically taking into account physiological aspects such as adaptation or partial anosmia. Sensory assessment can also be treated from a multi-sensory perspective
  • Determination of odour and taste thresholds in relation to the matrix properties of a food or raw material, as well as in relation to multi-sensory aspects. Detection, perception, and stimulation (e.g., trigeminal) thresholds of stimuli can be determined, as necessary
  • Characterization and assessment of odour release and emissions from raw materials and products, including during technological processes via on-line mass spectrometry (for example, during heat treatment, roasting, or fermentation processes; link PTR-MS)

The characterization of individual odorants is typically achieved using high-resolution gas chromatography-olfactometry (HRGC-O) coupled to mass spectrometry (MS). The use of GC-O allows for odour-active compounds to be clearly distinguished from odourless molecules. As such, individual compounds that have an odor character resembling or relating to the off-odor can be isolated already during the analyses (cf. Fig. 1). This focussed analytical approach allows for a direct comparison between problematic samples and unaffected control samples.

 

 

Fig. 1: Chromatogram of a mineral water sample using GC-O, with examples of odour-active regions indicated by the text and arrows (© Fraunhofer IVV)

The identification of odor-active trace compounds is achieved using 2D-HR-GC-O/MS, which offers a high degree of compound separation (cf. Fig. 2). Odor compounds are thereby separated in two independent gas chromatographic columns, each housed in a separate oven that are coupled via a cryogenic trap, and are then analyzed on the basis of their mass spectrum and odour qualities as detected at an olfactory detection port by a trained sensory assessor.

We routinely align our chemo-analytical assessments with human sensory evaluations to maximise the likelihood that all of the odor-active compounds that are responsible for the off-odor of a sample are ascertained.

Fig. 2: Schematic of 2D-HRGC-MS/O systems (© Fraunhofer IVV)

Often, even minute traces of highly odoros substances can alter the flavor of a food. Combining analytical and olfactory assessment methods offers a highly accurate and directed analysis of odor-active compounds at trace concentrations. This has enabled us, for example, to identify the key compounds responsible for a plastic-like off-flavor, or similarly a medicinal off-flavor, in mineral water samples.

Range of services

  • Human sensory evaluation of food odors and taste, and packaging odors
    Aroma profile analysis (APA), triangle tests, hedonic evaluations

  • Combined instrumental and sensory analyses of odor-active compounds in foods and packaging
    Gas chromatography (GC) coupled with flame ionization detection (GC-FID), olfactometry (GC-O), mass spectrometry (GC-MS), or a combination of these (GC-MS/O and 2D-GC-MS/O). GC sample preparation techniques such as aroma extract dilution analysis (AEDA), Twister®, stir bar sorptive extraction (SBSE), solid-phase micro-extraction (SPME), headspace

  • Studies to identify off-odors
    Elucidation of compounds responsible for off-odor, short and long-term storage tests, precursor studies

  • Simulation of aromas and off-odors on the lab-scale

  • Isolation and purification of odorants
    Various distillation techniques such as solvent assisted flavor evaporation (SAFE) and condensation/trapping techniques

  • Quantitative determination of odorants at trace levels
    e.g. via stable isotope dilution analysis (SIDA), diverse methods for quantification, on-line detection in the gas-phase

  • Monitoring of dynamic release processes of odorants in real-time via in vivo or in vitro studies
    Proton-transfer-reaction mass spectrometry (PTR-MS) and proton-transfer-reaction time-of-flight mass spectrometry (PTR-TOFMS), with calibration using an advanced Gas Calibration Unit (GCU-a)

  • Development of concepts for optimizing desired aroma impressions and investigations into the causes of off-odors with development of avoidance strategies

Geruchsoptimierung von Rohstoffen und Bedarfsgegenständen

Geruchscharakterisierung und -optimierung

Wir bewerten Produkte, Rohstoffe, technologische, physikalische und chemische Prozesse, die zu (un)erwünschten Veränderungen führen, indem wir Störgerüche aufklären aber auch erwünschte Materialgerüche wie z.B. Holzgeruch charakterisieren, zwischen unterschiedlichen Proben qualitativ und quantitativ vergleichen, und Hypothesen zu den Bildungswegen von Geruchstoffen aufstellen, die wir durch geeignete Vorläufer- und Bildungsstudien abschließend verifizieren. Wir verwenden modernste analytische Methoden, um derartige Gerüche auf molekularer Basis zu detektieren und zu identifizieren, und verfügen über das methodische Repertoire, um auch die Erwartungshaltung von Verbrauchern an bestimmte Produkte zu charakterisieren und zu bewerten. Dies erlaubt eine objektivierte Einschätzung, inwiefern es sich bei dem jeweiligen Fall um einen erwünschten Geruch oder einen Störgeruch handelt.


Produktgruppen und Rohstoffe

Produktgruppen und Rohstoffe, in denen wir geruchsaktive Begleitsubstanzen hinsichtlich ihrer Geruchseigenschaften charakterisiert (Beispiele):

  • Farbstoffe, Pigmente, Lacke, Tinten
  • Lösungsmittel und Basisformulierungen
  • Weichmacher, Gleitmittel, UV-Schutzmittel
  • Klebstoffe, Bindemittel
  • Reinigungsmittel
  • Kosmetika und Body Care, sowie entsprechende Rohstoffe
  • Kunststoffe, Polymere, Rezyklate
  • Holz-, Papier-, Kartonprodukte, Cellulose-basierte Materialien
  • Textilien, Bekleidungsmaterialien, Lederwaren, Funktionsmaterialien
  • Bedarfsgegenstände, Spielwaren
  • Möbel und Einrichtungsgegenstände
  • Rohstoffe (z.B. Fette oder Fett-Derivate, Cellulose oder Cellulose-Derivate)

 

Untersuchungsmethoden

Unser methodisches Spektrum für die Charakterisierung von Geruch in Food- und Nonfood-Produkten umfasst insbesondere:

  • Identifizierung und Charakterisierung von Geruchsstoffen mittels Gaschromatographie-Olfaktometrie (GC-O) und Aromaextraktverdünnungsanalyse (AEVA), ein- und zweidimensionale Gaschromatographie-Olfaktometrie in Koppelung mit Massenspektrometrie (2D-GC-O/MS)
  • Synthese und vergleichende Bewertung von Referenzsubstanzen sowie geeigneten Standards zur Quantifizierung, beispielsweise Stabilisotopenverdünnungsanalyse (SIDA)
  • Umfassende analytische Charakterisierung von Störsubstanzen und Aromastoffen mittels Massenspektrometrie, NMR, Retentionsindizes (RI), stereochemische Untersuchungen und Bewertung der Substanzen gemäß ihren Geruchseigenschaften (Geruchsschwellen und Geruchsqualitäten)
  • Umfassende Struktur-Geruchsaktivitäts-Untersuchungen
  • Geruchsrekombinationsversuche zur Verifizierung der Strukturaufklärung
  • Sensorische Untersuchung und Bewertung gemäß etablierter Methoden (DIN/ISO), sowie spezifisch angepasste sensorische Prüfungen, adaptiert auf bestimmte Problemfälle oder Produkte bzw. Produktgruppen, unter besonderer Berücksichtigung von physiologischen Aspekten wie Adaptation oder partiellen Anosmien. Die sensorische Prüfung kann auch multi-sensorische Fragestellungen beinhalten.
  • Schwellenwertbestimmungen in Hinblick auf Geruch und Geschmack, in Abhängigkeit von der Matrixbeschaffenheit der Lebensmittel oder der jeweiligen Rohstoffe, sowie unter Berücksichtigung multi-sensorischer Aspekte. Je nach Bedarf werden Detektions-, Erkennungs-, Reiz- bzw. trigeminale Schwellen der jeweiligen Stimuli erfasst.
  • Charakterisierung und Bewertung von Geruchsfreisetzung und Emissionen aus Rohstoffen und Produkten, auch im Verlauf prozesstechnologischer Schritte mittels online-massenspektrometrischer Verfahren (beispielsweise bei Erhitzungs-, Röst- oder Fermentationsprozessen)

Die Charakterisierung der jeweiligen Geruchsstoffe erfolgt hierbei insbesondere mittels hochauflösender (high resolution; HR) Gaschromatographie-Olfaktometrie (HRGC-O) in Koppelung mit massenspektrometrischen (MS) Methoden. Durch Einsatz der GC-O werden die geruchsaktiven Verbindungen von den geruchsinaktiven Verbindungen klar unterschieden. Dadurch werden schon während der Analysen diejenigen Verbindungen, deren Geruch mit einem charakteristischen Geruch bzw. einem Störgeruch in Verbindung stehen, herausgefiltert (s. Abb. 1). Diese fokussierte Analytik ermöglicht auch einen direkten Vergleich wertgebender bzw. störender Komponenten zwischen verschiedenen Proben.



Abb. 1: Chromatogramm einer Mineralwasser-Analyse mittels GC-O, gekennzeichnet sind exemplarisch geruchsaktive Regionen (© Fraunhofer IVV)

Die Identifizierung der geruchsaktiven Spurenkomponenten erfolgt mittels zweidimensionaler HRGC-O/MS mit sehr guter Trennleistung (s. Abb. 2). Hierbei werden die Geruchsstoffe an zwei gekoppelten gaschromatographischen Trennsäulen voneinander getrennt und anschließend sowohl massenspektrometrisch analysiert als auch an einem Sniffing-Port von unserem hoch spezialisierten Sensorikpanel hinsichtlich ihrer Geruchsqualität bewertet.

Der Abgleich der chemisch-analytischen Untersuchungen erfolgt stets mit den entsprechenden human-sensorischen Bewertungen, um sicherzustellen, dass alle Störsubstanzen erfasst wurden.


Abb. 2: Schematische Darstellung eines zweidimensionalen HRGC-MS/O Systems (© Fraunhofer IVV)

Bei hoch geruchsaktiven Substanzen genügen oftmals schon Spuren, um das Aroma eines Lebensmittels zu verändern. Die Kombination von analytischen und olfaktometrischen Untersuchungsmethoden, erlaubt uns eine hochgenaue und gerichtete Analyse geruchsaktiver Verbindungen auch im Spurenbereich. So konnten u. a. in Mineralwasser sowohl die Schlüsselverbindungen für ein kunststoffartiges Fehlaroma als auch für ein medizinisches Fehlaroma aufgeklärt werden.

Leistungsangebote

  • Sensorische Charakterisierung von Gerüchen und Geschmackseindrücken in Lebensmitteln und Verpackungsmaterialien Aromaprofilanalyse (APA), Triangeltest, hedonische Bewertungen

  • Kombinierte instrumentelle und sensorische Analyse von Gerüchen und Aromen in Lebensmitteln und Verpackungsmaterialien
    Gaschromatographie (GC) gekoppelt mit Flammenionisationsdetektor (GC-FID), Olfaktometrie (GC-O), Massenspektrometrie (GC-MS) oder kombinierte Systeme (GC-MS/O oder 2D-GC-MS/O), Probenvorbereitungstechniken für GC z. B. Aromaextraktverdünnungsanalyse (AEVA), Twister®-Extraktionsmethode, stir-bar sorptive extraktion (SBSE), solid-phase microextraction (SPME), headspace

  • Untersuchungen zur Klärung von Fehlgerüchen und -aromen
    Klärung der Störgeruch auslösenden Komponenten, Kurz- und Langzeitlagerversuche, Percursorstudien

  • Simulation von Aromen und Fehlgerüchen im Labormaßstab

  • Isolierung und Aufreinigung von Geruchsstoffen
    Verschiedene Destillationssysteme z. B. Solvent assisted flavour evaporation (SAFE), Kondensations- und Trappingtechniken

  • Quantitative Bestimmung von Aromastoffen im Spurenbereich
    z. B. Stabilisotopen-Verdünnungsanalyse (SIVA), verschiedenste Quantifizierungstechniken, on-line Gasphasenbestimmungen

  • Monitoring dynamischer Prozesse von Geruchsstoffen in Echtzeit durch in vivo und in vitro Untersuchungen
    Protonentauschreaktions-Massenspektrometrie (PTR-MS) bzw. Protonentauschreaktions-Flugzeit-Massenspektrometrie (PTR-TOFMS), mit Kalibrierung mittels advanced Gas Calibration Unit (GCU-a)


  • Entwicklung von Konzepten zur Optimierung erwünschter Aromaeindrücke sowie zur Vermeidung der Entstehung von Fehlgerüchen