About us

 

The Fraunhofer IVV

We are a leading R&D institute in the area of process engineering and packaging. Commissioned by organizations in the private and public sectors, we create added value for our customers.

History

We started out as the »Institute for Food Research« and today we are a leading international R&D institute in the area of process engineering and packaging.

Range of services

The dovetailing of our five business fields and the customized products we develop benefit customers from a range of industries – and hence also the end-users.

Organization

Out organizational structure enables us to adapt rapidly to current challenges and the individual needs of our customers.

Working together for the future

Our work encompasses five business fields: Food, Packaging, Product Performance, Processing Machinery, and Recycling and Environment. We not only tackle current challenges but also put attention on topics of the future such as the bioeconomy, circular economy, and digitalization.

For example, we develop high-quality foods and packaging materials from renewable raw materials and waste materials. These products meet the highest sensory requirements. New technical applications and intelligent digital solutions ensure trouble-free machine processing and minimize the environmental impact. With regard to the efficient use of resources, we also develop innovative recycling processes and convert recyclates back into high-quality materials.

Our expertise is also sought after outside the food and packaging industries. We endeavor to find customized solutions for a whole range of challenges and to take these through to commercialization. All of our customers greatly value our expertise.

As an institute of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft we are part of the largest applied research organization in Europe. We employ some 300 people at the Fraunhofer IVV locations in Freising und Dresden. Together with our Project center in Brazil, the KLEVERTEC Competence center, and the Campus of the Senses, we are able to offer our customers an extensive network of excellent science.

Icon symbolizing the synergies of the business fields

Food

Healthy, safe, sustainable, and tasty: High requirements are put on foods and food ingredients. Our development work puts attention on all these aspects. In addition, we provide an extensive range of services along the entire production chain in order to ensure high product safety and quality and to optimize the sensory properties of food products.

Business field: Food

Hexagonal icon with grain ferrule represents the Food business field
Hexagonal icon with milk carton represents the Packaging business field

Packaging

We always consider packaging in relation to the product. Only when there is perfect harmony between the two does the packaging fulfill its purpose. In our laboratories we develop customized packaging systems and carry out a variety of quality assurance services. As a specialist in barrier films, we also develop technical films having very high barrier properties.

Business field: Packaging

Product performance

Odor, taste, color, texture, haptic properties - in short the perception of a product directly influences the decision of consumers to buy that product. Comprehensive analysis and subsequent optimization of the sensory properties of products is the objective of the Product Performance business field. The digital simulation of sense perception as part of the Campus of the Senses initiative is taking this a step further.

Business field: Product performance

Icon symbolizing the business field product performance at Fraunhofer IVV
Hexagonal icon with intermeshing gears represents the Processing Machinery business field

Processing machinery

Product safety and production efficiency are the most important aspects of the Processing Machinery business field. We perform efficiency analyses, microbiological validations, and optimize machine processes. For flexible materials we develop intelligent solutions for thermal joining and forming. We can also assist the development of cleaning systems and hygienic process design. Self-learning assistance systems and the digitization of processing and cleaning technologies are our answers to Industry 4.0.

Business field: Processing machinery
 

Recycling and Environment

The circular economy and bioeconomy are the focus of the Recycling and Environment business field. We have already developed some innovative solutions: Our patented CreaSolv® process, for example, recycles packaging waste into plastics of virgin quality. In addition, we replace fossil raw materials with renewable plant-based materials of equivalent functionality and are your expert partner for matters relating to the optimization of recycling plants and processes, the sensory properties of recyclates, and environmental analytics.

Business field: Recycling and Environment

Hexagonal icon with recycling symbol represents the business field Recycling and Environment

Safeguarding good scientific practice

The ombudspersons of the Fraunhofer IVV ensure the fairness of all our scientific work. Our scientists are trusted to establish true scientific facts. Scientific misconduct such as data manipulation and the infringement of intellectual property rights not only abuse trust but also damage science.

Über uns

 

Das Fraunhofer IVV

Als Institut für angewandte Forschung sind wir führend auf den Gebieten der Verfahrenstechnik und Verpackung. Im Auftrag von Industrie, Staat und Wissenschaft schaffen wir echte Mehrwerte.

Geschichte

Das ehemalige »Institut für Lebensmittelforschung« hat sich bis heute zu einer international renomierten Forschungseinrichtung auf den Gebieten der Verfahrenstechnik und Verpackung entwickelt.

Leistungsangebot

Von der starken Verzahnung unserer fünf Geschäftsfelder profitieren unsere Kunden aus verschiedenen Branchen – und damit der Endanwender mit einem maßgeschneiderten Produkt.

Organisation

Unsere Organisationsstruktur ermöglicht es, schnell und flexibel auf aktuelle Herausforderungen und individuelle Kundenwünsche einzugehen.

Gemeinsam Zukunft entwickeln

Wir forschen, entwickeln, prüfen und gestalten in fünf Geschäftsfeldern: Als Forschungsinstitut für Verfahrenstechnik und Verpackung sind wir führend in den Bereichen Lebensmittel, Verpackung, Produktwirkung, Verarbeitungsmaschinen sowie Recycling und Umwelt. In unserer täglichen Arbeit richten wir uns nicht nur nach aktuellen Herausforderungen, sondern treiben die Zukunftsthemen Bioökonomie, Kreislaufwirtschaft und Digitalisierung stetig weiter voran.

So entwickeln wir aus nachwachsenden Roh- und Reststoffen hochwertige Lebensmittel und sichere Verpackungen. Dabei werden wir höchsten sensorischen Ansprüchen gerecht. Mit neuen technischen Anwendungen und intelligenten digitalen Lösungen gewährleisten wir die reibungslose maschinelle Verarbeitung und halten die Umweltlasten gering. Im Sinne der Ressourcenschonung arbeiten wir außerdem an innovativen Recyclingverfahren und machen Rezyklate wieder zu hochwertigen Werkstoffen.

Unsere Forschungsergebnisse sind auch in Branchen außerhalb der Lebensmittel und Verpackungsindustrie gefragt. Mit unseren Technologien und unserer Expertise finden wir maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für die unterschiedlichsten Herausforderungen und bringen sie zur Markreife. Dafür schätzen uns unsere Kunden aus Industrie, Wissenschaft und Staat als kompetenten Partner.

Als Institut der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft gehören wir zur größten Forschungseinrichtung für angewandte Forschung in Europa. An unseren Standorten in Freising und Dresden arbeiten rund 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter an neuen Anwendungen in den Bereichen Verfahrenstechnik und Verpackung. Zusammen mit unserem Projektzentrum in Brasilien, unserem Kompetenzzentrum KLEVERTEC und der Initiative Campus der Sinne bieten wir unseren Kunden ein breites Netzwerk für exzellente Wissenschaft.

Icon für die Synergien der Geschäftsfelder am Fraunhofer IVV

Lebensmittel

Gesund, sicher, nachhaltig und schmackhaft: Lebensmittel und Lebensmittelzutaten sind hohen Anforderungen ausgesetzt. Bei unseren Neuentwicklungen und Reformulierungen haben wir alle diese Aspekte im Blick. Darüber hinaus bieten wir entlang der gesamten Produktionskette umfassende Leistungen, um eine hohe Produktsicherheit und -qualität sicherzustellen und die sensorischen Eigenschaften von Lebensmitteln zu optimieren.

Zum Geschäftsfeld Lebensmittel

Wabenförmiges Icon mit Getreideähre repräsentiert das Geschäftsfeld Lebensmittel
Wabenförmiges Icon mit Milchtüte repräsentiert das Geschäftsfeld Verpackung

Verpackung

Wir betrachten eine Verpackung immer in Relation zu ihrem Packgut. Denn nur wenn beide perfekt auf einander abgestimmt sind, erfüllt die Verpackung ihren Zweck. In unseren Laboren entwickeln wir maßgeschneiderte Verpackungslösungen und führen verschiedene Dienstleistungen zur Qualitätssicherung durch. Als Spezialist für Barrierefolien entwickeln wir zudem technische Folien mit einer besonders hohen Barrierewirkung.

Zum Geschäftsfeld Verpackung

Produktwirkung

Geruch, Geschmack, Farbe, Textur, Haptik, kurz gesagt, die Produktwahrnehmung, hat einen unmittelbaren Einfluss auf die Kaufentscheidung. Die sensorischen Eigenschaften von Produkten umfassend zu analysieren und daraus entsprechende Schlüsse zur sensorischen Optimierung zu ziehen, ist deshalb das Ziel unseres Geschäftsfelds Produktwirkung. Mit der digitalen Nachbildung von Sinneswahrnehmungen gehen wir im Rahmen der Initiative »Campus der Sinne« sogar noch einen Schritt weiter.

Zum Geschäftsfeld Produktwirkung

Icon für Geschäftsfeld Produktwirkung
Wabenförmiges Icon mit ineinandergreifenden Zahnrädern repräsentiert das Geschäftsfeld Verarbeitungsmaschinen

Verarbeitungsmaschinen

Produktsicherheit und Produktionseffizienz sind die wichtigsten Aspekte in unserem Geschäftsfeld Verarbeitungsmaschinen. Wir führen Effizienzanalysen sowie mikrobiologische Validierungen von Anlagen durch und optimieren maschinelle Verarbeitungsprozesse. Für flexible Materialien erarbeiten wir intelligente Lösungen zum Umformen und thermischen Fügen. Gleichzeitig unterstützen wir bei der Entwicklung von Reinigungssystemen und der hygienegerechten Prozessgestaltung. Selbstlernende Assistenzsysteme und die Digitalisierung von Verarbeitungs- und Reinigungsprozessen sind unsere Antworten auf Industrie 4.0.

Zum Geschäftsfeld Verarbeitungsmaschinen
 

Recycling und Umwelt

Kreislaufwirtschaft und Bioökonomie sind die großen Herausforderungen, denen wir uns in unserem Geschäftsfeld Recycling und Umwelt stellen. Und schon jetzt bieten wir innovative Lösungen: So gewinnen wir mit unserem patentierten Recyclingverfahren CreaSolv® aus Verpackungsabfällen hochwertige Kunststoffe in Neuwarequalität. Darüber hinaus ersetzen wir fossile Rohstoffe durch nachwachsende, pflanzliche Stoffe mit gleicher Funktionalität und sind kompetenter Ansprechpartner, wenn es um die Optimierung von Recyclinganlagen und -prozessen, um die Sensorik von  Rezyklaten und um Umweltanalytik geht.

Zum Geschäftsfeld Recycling und Umwelt

Wabenförmiges Icon mit Recyclingzeichen repräsentiert das Geschäftsfeld Recycling und Umwelt

Sicherung der wissenschaftlichen Praxis

Die Ombudspersonen des Fraunhofer IVV sorgen für Fairness beim wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten. Gemeinsam mit unseren Wissenschaftlern setzen wir auf Vertauen bei der Wahrheitsfindung, um die es in der Wissenschaft geht. Wissenschaftliches Fehlverhalten, wie Datenmanipulation oder Verletzung des geisitgen Eigentums, missbrauchen nicht nur das Vertrauen, sondern schaden zudem der Wissenschaft.