Fraunhofer IVV Office Korea

The Fraunhofer IVV Office Korea was established in March 2010 in the city of Gangneung under the management of Dr. Chan Suk Yoon. The Office was set up in collaboration with the Gangneung Science Industry Foundation and the city of Gangneung, which made office and laboratory space available. Since May 2013 Professor Keun Taik Lee has headed the Fraunhofer IVV Office Korea.

The South Korean location of the Office enables direct contact with Korean partners in the food and packaging industry. These companies can thus benefit directly from the expertise of the Fraunhofer IVV.

Two major projects are already being undertaken. The first involves the development of safe food contact materials in connection with the extended Free Trade Agreement (FTA) between the EU and South Korea. The second project concerns the safety of ready-meals that are heated in the packaging in microwave ovens. Work is also underway with industrial partners to develop analytical methods and carry out analyses on packaging films in order to meet the specifications required for export to the EU. Other work is developing Ormocer® and whey protein coatings.

In 2011 the Fraunhofer IVV Office Korea held an international packaging symposium. It has also launched a Korean website and sends a periodic newsletter to more than 2000 Korean contacts detailing current news and R&D findings from the Fraunhofer IVV.

Fraunhofer IVV-Büro in Korea

Im März 2010 gründete das Fraunhofer IVV die koreanische Außenstelle in Gangneung unter der Leitung von Dr. Chan Suk Yoon. Das Büro wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit der Gangneung Science Industry Foundation und der Stadt Gangneung, die Räumlichkeiten für Büro und Labor zur Verfügung stellten, aufgebaut. Im Mai 2013 übernahm Professor Keun Taik Lee die Leitung der Außenstelle.

Der Sitz des Büros in Südkorea ermöglicht den direkten Kontakt zu koreanischen Partnern aus der Lebensmittel- und Verpackungsindustrie. So können diese direkt von den Forschungsarbeiten des Fraunhofer IVV profitieren.

Die Themen der bisherigen beiden Hauptprojekte sind die Entwicklung von sicheren Lebensmittel-Kontaktmaterialien im Hinblick auf das erweiterte Freihandelsabkommen zwischen der EU und Südkorea (FTA) und die Sicherheit von Fertiggerichten, die mit der Verpackung in der Mikrowelle erwärmt werden. Enge Zusammenarbeit mit Industriepartnern besteht auch bei der Entwicklung und Durchführung von Analysen von Verpackungsfolien, um den geforderten Standards für einen Export in die EU zu genügen, sowie bei Entwicklungen zu Ormocer®- und Molkenproteinbeschichtungen.

2011 führte das koreanische Fraunhofer IVV-Büro ein internationales Verpackungssymposium durch. Das Büro hat zudem eine koreanische Internetseite aufgebaut und versorgt mehr als 2000 koreanischen Partner regelmäßig mit einem Newsletter über die aktuellen Informationen aus dem Fraunhofer IVV.