High quality recycling of plastics using the CreaSolv® Process

© Fraunhofer IVV

Our patented CreaSolv® Process provides excellent value-creation. Special purification processes effectively separate contaminants and harmful materials. The plastics that are recycled from contaminated mixtures or composite materials have properties equivalent to those of the virgin plastics.

The recycling of type-pure plastic waste fractions is established and common practice. Sorting and treatment processes for mixed post-consumer waste containing adherent contaminants have been developed for plastic packaging materials.

However, for many post-consumer mixtures of plastics, for example those with similar density, there is however still a lack of available separating technologies for removing the external contaminants. The Fraunhofer IVV is currently carrying out work in the following areas on the separation and purification of plastics and reuse of the type-pure materials:

  • separation of PET-PVC mixtures;
  • separation of ABS-HIPS mixtures;
  • separation of plastic-metal laminates.

The separation of internal contaminants is the second main focus of our work. We provide unique solutions for example for the:

  • separation of barrier materials, pigments and fillers from PET;
  • separation of plastics containing flame-retardants from those not containing flame-retardants;
  • removal of brominated flame-retardants from waste plastics from the electrical industry.

Our recycling processes are hence competing with feedstock recovery and waste site disposal. The feedstock recovery processes are not viable due to costly extra payments having to be made and have mostly been stopped. Waste site disposal will also not be applicable with expiry of the TASi (Technical Guideline for Municipal Wastel) implementation deadline on 1 June 2005 for mixed, energy-rich (namely plastic-containing) waste. In contrast, the Fraunhofer processes also offer value-creation due to the pure, high-quality and quality assured plastic recyclates.

These R&D activities can also summarized by the applications of the plastics:

  • recycling of packaging plastics (PET and EPS);
  • recycling of industrial plastics (ABS and HIPS).

The CreaSolv® Process

The term selective extraction describes a mechanical recycling process for plastics which allows very pure plastics to be recovered due to their specific solubility. The special feature of the method is the fact that the material is purified at the molecular level. Contaminants that are detrimental to quality are removed under mild conditions and with maintenance of the polymer properties.

In conjunction with CreaCycle GmbH in Grevenbroich, a formulator spezialized in the application of solvents with the lowest possible risk potential for the user and the environment (ideally not classified according to GHS creteria), the technique was developed into the CreaSolv® Process.

The 3 main steps in the process are:

  • dissolution of the target plastic using a selective solvent; other components in the waste fraction remain undissolved;
  • separation of contaminants from the recovered polymer solution;
  • precipitation of the target plastic from the purified polymer solution.

If necessary, the main steps are supplemented by upstream crushing and pre-cleaning processes and by downstream conversion involving mechanical concentration, drying and compounding.

This recycling process is currently being tested at the Fraunhofer IVV
on industrial composite materials, e.g. ABS waste containing flame-retardants from the electronics industry and car manufacturing industry, and optimized on a small pilot-plant scale. The aim is to scale up the process to industrial plants for the production of quality-assured recyclates.

In order to be able to survive in the marketplace, the plastic recyclates must possess properties akin to virgin materials. In the process optimization work, the functional property requirements and hence the specifications regarding the type-purity, additive content and aging properties are decisive. The analytical specification of the input fractions provides development targets for the recycling process and base data for the quality control of the recyclate.

We are hence able to offer our customers individual process solutions. Using modern equipment, brominated flame-retardants and their toxic degradation products (polybrominated dioxins and furans) are for example analyzed. This analytical work allows us to evaluate the efficiency of the recycling process, namely product quality versus process costs.

Hochwertiges Kunststoff-Recycling mit dem CreaSolv®-Prozess

© Fraunhofer IVV

Unser patentrechtlich geschützter CreaSolv®-Prozess erlaubt eine herausragende Wertschöpfung. Durch spezielle Reinigungsverfahren werden Verunreinigungen und Schadstoffe effektiver abgetrennt. Die recyclierten Kunststoffe aus kontaminierten Gemischen oder Materialverbunden weisen Neuware-Eigenschaften auf.

Das Kunststoff-Recycling bei sortenreinen Abfällen ist etabliert und gängige Praxis. Selbst für gemischte post-consumer Abfälle mit Schmutzanhaftungen sind Sortier- und Aufbereitungsverfahren für ein Recycling im Bereich der Verpackungskunststoffe weit entwickelt.

Für manche post-consumer Kunststoffgemische, beispielsweise mit ähnlicher Dichte, versagen jedoch die verfügbaren Trenntechniken zur Entfernung der äußeren Verunreinigungen. Das Fraunhofer IVV arbeitet hier an der Trennung und Aufbereitung zum sortenreinen Wiedereinsatz des Materials:

  • Trennung für PET-PVC-Gemische,
  • Trennung für ABS-HIPS-Gemische,
  • Trennung für Kunststoff-Metall-Verbunde.

Die Abtrennung von inneren Verunreinigungen ist unser zweites großes Aufgabengebiet. Hier bieten wir weltweit einzigartige Lösungen, z. B. für die

  • Abtrennung von Barrierematerialien, Farb- und Füllstoffen aus PET,
  • Trennung flammgeschützter und nichtflammgeschützter Kunststoffe,
  • Entfernung bromierter Flammschutzadditive aus Elektro-Kunststoffen.

Dabei stehen unsere Recyclingverfahren im Wettbewerb zur rohstofflichen Entsorgung und der Deponie. Die rohstofflichen Verfahren sind aufgrund teurer Zuzahlung unrentabel und wurden überwiegend eingestellt. Auch die Deponierung entfällt mit Ablauf der TASi-Umsetzungsfrist (Technische Anleitung Siedlungsabfall) am 1. Juni 2005 für vermischte, heizwertreiche, also kunststoffhaltige Abfälle. Dagegen bieten die Fraunhofer-Verfahren zusätzlich eine Wertschöpfung über die hochwertigen, reinen und qualitätsgesicherten Kunststoff-Rezyklate.

Diese FuE-Aktivitäten lassen sich auch nach ihren Anwendungen zusammenfassen:

  • Recycling von Verpackungskunststoffen (PET und EPS),
  • Recycling von technischen Kunststoffen (ABS und HIPS).

Das CreaSolv®-Verfahren

Der Begriff Selektive Extraktion beschreibt ein werkstoffliches Recyclingverfahren für Kunststoffe, die aufgrund ihrer spezifischen Löslichkeit in hoher Reinheit wiedergewonnen werden können. Das besondere Potential des Verfahrens liegt in der Reinigung des Materials auf molekularer Ebene. Qualitätsbeeinflussende Störstoffe werden schonend und unter Erhalt der Polymereigenschaften entfernt.

Gemeinsam mit der CreaCycle GmbH, Grevenbroich, einem spezialisierten Formulierer von Lösemittelsystemen mit möglichst geringem Risikopotenzial für Anwender und Umwelt (idealerweise nicht eingestuft nach GHS Kriterien), wurde das Verfahren zum CreaSolv®-Prozess weiterentwickelt.

Die drei Hauptschritte dabei sind:

  • Auflösen des Zielkunststoffes mit einem selektiven Lösemittel; andere Bestandteile der Abfallfraktion bleiben ungelöst,
  • Abtrennen von Fremdstoffen aus der gewonnenen Polymerlösung,
  • Ausfällen des Zielkunststoffes aus der gereinigten Polymerlösung.

Ergänzt werden die Hauptschritte bei Bedarf durch eine vorgeschaltete Zerkleinerung und Vorreinigung sowie durch eine nachgeschaltete Konfektionierung zum mechanischen Konzentrieren, Trocknen und Compoundieren.

Im Fraunhofer IVV wird dieses Recyclingverfahren aktuell für technische Verbunde, z. B. flammgeschützte ABS-haltige Abfälle aus der Elektronikbranche und dem Automobilbau, geprüft und im kleintechnischen Maßstab optimiert. Ziel ist die großtechnische Verfahrensumsetzung zu Industrieanlagen, die qualitätsgesicherte Rezyklate produzieren.

Um am Markt bestehen zu können, müssen die Kunststoffrezyklate Neuware-Eigenschaften besitzen. Bei der Verfahrensoptimierung ist also die Erfüllung funktioneller Eigenschaften und damit die Frage nach Sortenreinheit, Restadditivierung und Polymeralterung entscheidend. Dazu liefert die analytische Spezifizierung der Inputfraktionen Entwicklungsziele für den Recyclingprozess und Basisdaten für die Qualitätskontrolle des Rezyklats.

Unseren Kunden bieten wir so individuell und zielgerichtet angepasste Verfahren. Mit modernsten Geräten werden z. B. bromierte Flammschutzmittel und ihre toxischen Abbauprodukte, die polybromierten Dioxine und Furane, analysiert. Mit dieser entwicklungsbegleitenden Analytik können wir auch die Effizienz des Recyclingprozesses bewerten:

Produktqualität versus Verfahrenskosten.

Fachartikel zum Recycling von Bioverpackungen aus Polylactid zum Download:
Siebert, T.; Schlummer, M.; Mäurer, A.: Bioverpackungen wiederverwerten. Kunststoffe 7 (2013), S. 79-82 [pdf 2,7 MB]