Small pilot plant for film conversion – barrier films

Development of barrier films in our film conversion pilot plant

We convert technical films into barrier films that are able to meet the highest requirements. This involves enhancing the barriers to oxygen and water vapor and improving the stability and service lives of the films. Barrier films for packaging and encapsulation applications are specially adapted to meet the demands of the products. This enables you to increase the shelf-life of sensitive foods and enhance the service life of sensitive technical products. Costs and benefits are weighed up in all our development work.

How we manufacture barrier films

Web materials are coated under vacuum and also under atmospheric pressure in roll-to-roll processes. Extremely thin inorganic layers can be applied under vacuum. At atmospheric pressure, substrates can be functionalized by organic coatings via wet-chemical application. These barrier layers can be used to replace barriers based on the copolymer EVOH. Roll-to-roll processing enables resource-efficient functional coatings to be developed at an early stage of project work using nanocomposite-based coating and adhesive layers.

Barrier film applications

Customized technical films for specific applications can be manufactured using selected combinations of the aforementioned technologies. High barrier and ultra barrier films offer excellent protection against oxygen and water vapor for the encapsulation of electronic components and for vacuum panels and solar panels. Other functionalities such as electrochromic glazing and anti-fogging and antibacterial properties can be realized using these film conversion techniques. For these applications complex specifications must be met. We can adapt the films as necessary and optimize them using our state-of-the-art analytical facilities.

Small pilot plant facilities for converting technical films

Let us help you enhance the barrier properties of your films!

  • We optimize the barrier properties of technical films using our small pilot scale plants: ALD plant, lacquering and laminating plant, and vacuum coating plant
  • The latest R&D findings are used for product-specific adaptation of the barrier properties to meet the respective requirements
  • Our conversion processes meet industrial standards

Technikum Folienveredelung – Barrierefolien

In unserem Technikum zur Folienveredelung entwickeln wir Barrierefolien

Mit der Veredelung von technischen Folien erzeugen wir Barrierefolien, die hohen Anforderungen gerecht werden. Wir erhöhen die Barrierewirkung der Folien gegenüber Sauerstoff und Wasserdampf und verbessern die Stabilität und Haltbarkeit der Folien. Für Verpackung und Verkapselung passen wir Barrierefolien speziell an die Anforderungen Ihrer Produkte an. Erhöhen Sie so die Haltbarkeit Ihrer hochempfindlichen technischen Produkte und Ihrer sensiblen Lebensmittel. Kosten und Nutzen wägen wir bei der Entwicklung stets ab.

So stellen wir Barrierefolien her

Bahnförmige Materialien können sowohl im Vakuum als auch unter Atmosphärendruck im Rolle-zu-Rolle-Verfahren beschichtet werden. Zum einen sind dabei extrem dünne anorganische Schichten applizierbar, zum anderen können die Substrate durch organische Beschichtungen im nasschemischen Auftrag funktionalisiert werden. Sperrschichten auf Basis des Copolymers EVOH können durch solche Barriereschichten ersetzt werden. Durch die Möglichkeiten der Rolle-zu-Rolle-Verarbeitung ist es schon im Projektstadium möglich, ressourceneffiziente funktionelle Beschichtungen in Kombination mit dem Einsatz von nanokompositbasierten Lack- und Klebstoffschichten zu entwickeln.

Das können Barrierefolien

Für den Bereich der technischen Folien können aus der Kombination der aufgeführten Technologien anwendungsbezogene Entwicklungen durchgeführt werden. Hoch- und Ultrabarrierefolien bieten bei der Verkapselung von elektronischen Bauteilen, Vakuumpaneelen für den Baubereich und Solarpaneelen einen besonders hohen Schutz gegenüber Sauerstoff und Wasserdampf. Auch andere Funktionalitäten wie z. B. elektrochrome Fensterverdunklung, anti-fogging und antibakterielle Anwendungen können mit diesen Veredelungsverfahren erzielt werden. Für diese Entwicklungen müssen komplexe Anforderungsprofile erfüllt werden. Diese können flexibel von uns angepasst und in Kombination mit unseren umfassenden Charakterisierungsmöglichkeiten optimiert werden.

Unsere Technikumsanlagen zur Veredelung technischer Folien

Verbessern Sie mit uns die Barriere Ihrer technischen Folien

  • Mit unseren Technikumsanlagen: ALD-Anlage, Lackier- und Kaschieranlage und Vakuumbeschichtungsanlage optimieren wir die Barriereeigenschaften technischer Folien
  • Nutzung neuester Forschungsergebnisse zur produktspezifischen Anpassung an die jeweiligen Barriereanforderungen
  • Unsere Veredelungsprozesse entsprechen dem Industriestandard